I Should Be Painting

It is only March, and yet I feel like this year has been very busy and tiring, which I guess it has been.

An engagement, working, an application, working,  packing up a house, moving house, working, solo exhibition, working, an old friend’s passing, moving country, sleep.

 

After about three months of intense life, I have decided I am taking a break.

 

The exhibition went well. My work was on show to the public. Reception was positive and sales were made. I worked intensely on a body of work for about 2 and half years, while studying a postgraduate course for a year and then teaching full time for 14 months. I worked predominantly in watercolour and ink medium. And even though the culmination was an exhibition of the works, (and maybe this is just the self critical part of me) there was a feeling that it could have been better. That I had not yet finished saying what I set out to say. That the end product was not exactly how I imagined it to be. That the possibilities presented to me were infinite, and yet when the proverbial fat lady sang, it was a bit of a disappointment. It could be (probably is) due to the fact that I did not get a final say in the curating of my exhibition, (and I am a closet control freak/ art nazi).

 

Anyway, here I am, after relocating across the world in a post exhibition low, and not really knowing what to do with my art. Watercolour and ink is still my medium of choice, and since there are some around, flowers continue to be my subject matter (for now).

 

I am trying to figure out a new way to present my artwork, something different to posting an image.

 

Of course all the normal personal shit and self critism creeps into my insecurities:

 

I should be painting new subject matter.

I should be painting more

I should be feeling more inspired to be painting.

Now that I have more free time, I should be learning new techniques.

 

And on top of it all, my focus is shot! I should be nick-named Fish.

 

Well, all I can say for now is let’s see what happens….

Leave a comment